Every county has a different charge for getting a police report. Here is our law firm’s current list of cost for a police report by county. This list was complied in June 2019.
- Allegany County = $5
- Anne Arundel County = $6
- Baltimore City = $10
- Baltimore County = $15
- Calvert County = $10
- Caroline County = $10
- Carroll County = $5
- Cecil County = $5
- Charles County = $8
- Dorchester County = $5
- Frederick County = $5
- Garrett County = $4
- Harford County = $5
- Howard County = $10
- Kent County = $5
- Montgomery County = $10
- P.G. County $10 = $10
- Queen Anne’s County = $10
- Saint Mary’s County = $5
- Somerset County = $10
- Talbot County = $5
- Washington County = $5 ($1 additional pages)
- Wicomico County = $5
- Worcester County = $10
- Maryland State Police = $4
So you simply send in a check and a letter (here is a sample) and you should be able to get a report.
New Law Getting Police Reports
Maryland has a new law governing requests for police reports within 60 days of an incident.
The primary purpose of this rule was privacy. The take home message is that if you are not a lawyer or someone with a legitimate direct interest in the case, you should not be seeking a police report. Let’s all agree that snooping into your ex-girlfriend’s domestic incident with her new boyfriend is not a legitimate interest.
Below are links to information that explain the new law and some information on getting police reports in Maryland.
- New Maryland Law (the new Maryland statute itself)
- Explanation of the New Maryland Law (summary of law to obtain a police report)
- Baltimore County’s Police Report Request Form (the form required to obtain a report)
- Maryland State Police Report Request Form (the form need to obtain the police report)
- Getting police reports from Howard County
- Getting police reports from State Police
- Maryland Case Search: get information on pending litigation